MCDST Equivalent??

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by jayguevara, Jul 8, 2011.

1. jayguevara

jayguevara New Member

Hi Guys,

I'm planning out a roadmap for my career change into IT and am currently in the process of getting my A+ and N+.

My next step was to get the MCDST, but this has been discontinued, so what is its replacement? The reason I ask, is because I have no experience in IT, and if someone else applies for the same job as I do and also has no experience but has MCDST then he/she has an obvious advantage over me.

I'd like to level the playing field a bit so would appreciate any advice on what I can do instead of the MCDST after I finish the A+ and N+.

Many thanks!

2. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

I guess the closest thing at the moment would be one of the client exams (XP/Vista/7) and possibly MCITP after that. Bit harder than MCDST and not quite the same thing unfortunately.

Certifications: MCT, MCTS, i-Net+, CIW CI, Prince2, MSP, MCSD
  3. soundian

soundian Gigabyte Poster

The closest in terms of difficulty seems to be the 620 (Vista). However it is the least useful of the three client exams.

Certifications: A+, N+,MCDST,MCTS(680), MCP(270, 271, 272), ITILv3F, CCENT
    WIP: Knuckling down at my new job
  4. -Mercury-

-Mercury- Byte Poster

MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Support Technician on Windows 7 Exam 70-680 + Exam 70-685

MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Administrator on Windows 7 Exam 70-680 + Exam 70-686

MCITP: Consumer Support Technician on Windows Vista Exam 70-620 + Exam 70-623

MCITP: Enterprise Support Technician on Windows Vista Exam 70-620 +Exam 70-622

MCITP (Microsoft Certified IT Professional)

Last edited: Jul 8, 2011
    Certifications: MCSA|MCDST|A+|Net+
    WIP: CCENT
  5. Rob1234

Rob1234 Megabyte Poster Forum Leader

Have a look at the ITIL.

Certifications: A few.
  6. Monkeychops

Monkeychops Kilobyte Poster

The MS stuff is quite a different beast to ITIL though.