MCAD Info Required

Discussion in 'MCAD / MCSD / MCPD' started by M3ntal, Mar 22, 2006.

1. M3ntal

M3ntal New Member

I'm wanting to learn about Windows networked application development, and upon looking at the options available, have decided that an MCAD would teach me what i need to know, and appending an MCSD to that would pretty much polish the job off.

I have some knowledge of Java and C++, so it seems appropriate to go down the C# route rather than the VB one. I also know the basics of distributed and client/server systems using JavaSpaces, RMI, and BSD Sockets, which should translate reasonably well to Windows Sockets + XML Services, and if needs be, DCOM. My weakest areas are in Windows application development and knowledge of the .NET framework in general, as my previous experience is with mainly web-based systems (PHP/MySQL/etc) and non-platform-specific Java systems.

Now to the questions:

1) Can anyone point me to a list of places, preferably in Yorkshire, where i can sit the exams? I am intending to learn the material in my spare time via books, the web, etc, so i am looking for places that allow you to just pay for the exams themself rather than a full learning course.

2) Can anyone recommend any particularly good learning material?

3) How much do the exams cost?

4) Do you think my assessment of the options available is the best one, and if not, why?

Thanks in advance for any replies :).

WIP: MCAD/MCSD
  2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

I can't answer any of the questions, but I can comment on programming Winsock after a spell of BSD sockets.

While there are similarities, thare are some surprising differences. These will only matter if you program at the socket layer. With a lot of the addons and extras nowadays you may find that you are using an API which is a considerable distance from the Winsock layer!