Master CIW Designer

Discussion in 'CIW Certifications' started by alexandra, Jan 15, 2008.

1. alexandra

alexandra New Member

Hello

I am a digital artist who has decided to move into web design, however despite excellent academic qualifications, and in-depth knowledge of applications like after effects, final cut and photoshop, I don't have much technical experience of the web and have decided to do the Master CIW Designer - particularly for the e-commerce side.

I have found two possible options (neither include the cost of exams):

1. To study part-time at London College for one year: http://www.london-college.com/. This would give lessons in a classroom setting with a maximum of eleven students for six hours a week, with one to one tutorial time too. However this is a private college and the fees for the whole year would be £2200 (it appears more expensive on the web-site but they knock some off for doing all three parts).

2. To buy the self study pact directly from the CIW: http://www.ciwcertified.com/training/. This would cost $999.99, (again cheaper to buy all three parts at once). I think this is £509.955 unless it is more expensive to buy from the UK.

I suppose the big question is should I pay the extra money for tuition, contact with other students, careers advice, and a structured timetable, or should I go it alone?

I know it's a personal choice, but I would love to hear from fellow forum users - has anybody taken either of these routes, If so how was it? Or just an opinion would be appreciated, even if you haven't tried one yourself.

Certifications: MA Digital Arts
  2. alexandra

alexandra New Member

Just found out that I might not be able to buy direct from CIW, so will have to check the price of buying in the UK - this is apparently more expensive.

3. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster