Market research

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Simon-MCT, Mar 1, 2009.

1. Simon-MCT

Simon-MCT Bit Poster

Hello folks,

I know I've only been here a few hours, but I found this Forum by accident, whilst searching for something specific, which I didn't actually find.

I hope that this won't be labelled as spam by the mods, and I do apologise if it appears that way.

First, please let me give you some background. I am a Microsoft Certified Trainer with 10 years experience, recently made redundant from a fairly big UK training provider, though one that mainly dealt with corporate clients rather than advertising to the general public. If any of you have been sent on courses via your workplace you may have been sent to the company I used to work for.

I am presently doing some contract Admin & Troubleshooting work, but find that even this is hard to come by in the current economic climate. As for finding another full time training role, that is most unlikely at the moment. Every training company I know has made trainers redundant recently.

My problem is that I like training. I find I can explain complex topics & help people understand them and I really enjoy what I call "The Penny Drop Moment" when something elusive finally makes sense!

I have read with great interest a lot of the posts discussing Training Providers, their pro's and cons, value for money, support etc and realise that a lot of people are going down the self-study route rather than paying out fortunes to attend poorly constructed & supported courses. I know how that works, all of my MCSE's have been self-study, basically, though while I was working for a training company I did get to sit in on some of the courses, though more to see how they should be taught than anything else.

I also noted the posts about Study Groups, focusing on specific exams that people were getting ready to take.

So, to the point.