Looking for advice

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by diffy114, Nov 21, 2012.

1. diffy114

diffy114 New Member

Hello folks..

I hope you don't mind me picking your brains as you good people are well placed to answer some of my concerns. I am considering an attempt at MCITP certification via distance learning/self study. I currently work in IT support and have been doing so for a number of years (as a technician and systems manager so I have some experience). So...I have a few questions.

1. I understand a good place to start is by studying for the 70-640 exam. Is this a wise course of action as a starting point?

2. I'm not sure what hardware I'll need to complete the courses involved. Will I need a 64bit PC to host Server 2008 with a minimum of 4GB RAM that will support a couple of virtual DCs and clients?

3. I may have to take my time to complete the whole certification as I work full time. What constraints are placed on the MS software (or trial version I get with a self study kit) if it expires?

4. Is this going to cost me a small fortune in hardware and licensing before I even start (Server 2008 R2 and VMWare).?

I'd appreciate your thoughts

Regards

Diff

2. l4ter

l4ter Nibble Poster

Hey Dif, I’m currently studying it atm.

I bought the whole course from eBay for like £200, it was immaculate, opened the 70-640 book and realised why (the cds contain the eBook) this also came with server 2008 r2; although I found it initially difficult to read but have found that videos easier to digest.

I did not follow the prescribed 70-640, 70-642, 70-643, 70-647 then finally 70-680. I attempted to 70-640 but someone said to me try 70-680 – to complete the whole course you need at least that (which is windows 7) or vista (which is some other number).
    It took me 2 attempts but I did pass the exam.