Looking for advice on company switch

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by itguytothemax, May 23, 2009.

1. itguytothemax

itguytothemax New Member

Hello everyone, my first post. I'm thinking about switching jobs, and am looking for advice.

Here's a short summary:

I graduated about a year ago, with close to a 4.0 GPA with a master's in comp sci at a well recognized school

I've been at my current IT job for a year (the company is a large software company who's name is recognized)
    It's not too taxing of a job, but it is quite boring, and does not require a lot of creativity (something on which I thrive)
    I've already been promoted, and get along well with my coworkers and boss. My pay is slightly above average.

I'm thinking of switching careers to a medium-sized IT company which would provide better pay (~20% better?), and a better "living area" (city vs. in-the-middle-of-nowhere-country), and in which creativity is a requirement. This company is invovled in a burgeoning field which I see becoming quite important in the years to come.

At the risk of being too off-topic here, anyone familiar with the most dangerous time to have engine problems in a plane? It's when it's taking off (or landing, but let's focus on taking off here... :)). I feel that that's my predicament now--I'm "taking off" in my career now. If I switch companies, and then get laid off (company focus shifts, it looses funding, etc) soon after I switch, I'll have two jobs in a row in which I did not spend a large amount of time. That could severly hurt my future prospects.

I can stay at my current job for a couple more years, and it could look great on my resume. I'd also likely be miserable and lonely for those years. I could take a risk, take the new job, make more money, and be closer to family, and the thousands of others in the city. But if I lost the new job, it could be harder to find future employement.

Any thoughts? Thanks for reading :eek:

2. Kitkatninja