looking for a start

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Patrulheiro, Feb 1, 2008.

1. Patrulheiro

Patrulheiro Bit Poster

I'm graduate in IT but I've been working with catering business for the past 6 years and now I'm desperate to get back on track. I'm studying for the A+ so I can add more knowledge to my CV but I KNOW that this will not get me started within the IT Industry. The situation is that I'm really concern in how I will get my first IT Job with no experience, I do think about start with some volunteer work to put my hands on and to feel how is like to work in this kind of role. I have been offered a IT course that will take me through A+ and MCDST for a period of 18 months (but it all depends of my speed as well, I’m planning to get all in 12 months) with on-line support, tutors to help me when I need and so on, and the main thing is that they offer a good recruitment team that works with me to get me started, of course that's loads of promises but I don't really count on it, and also there's a cost of 2750 for all of it!!! Now, I could start doing it all by myself, get the books, start to building a lab where I could practice what I learned, but I'll still be concerned about how to get my first job. I’m based in London, is there any good recruitment center for IT that you guys have experience with?? Should I pay all this money to get my certs and the help that they are offering me, is it worth it??

Many thanks in advance!!!8)

2. dales

dales Terabyte Poster

You could easily study for the a+ and mcdst for well under half that amount if you do it yourself. Buy some books maybe £150 tops for them then a reasonable 2nd hand pc for about £100, (two and a switch if your feeling saucy). then the cost of the exams.

You are definately on the right track with volunteering. There is a volunteer website http://www.do-it.org.uk/ which you can have a look at, by doing volunteer work it shows you are keen and eager to work in IT.