Linux Questions

Discussion in 'Linux / Unix Discussion' started by Rover977, Mar 11, 2009.

1. Rover977

Rover977 Byte Poster

Hi I wonder if I could ask some advice re Linux. I am a total newbie in Linux, and I am currently trying to select a suitable distro to get started, and I would appreciate any suggestions. The initial requirements I have are :-

1) can run on P4 3GHz, Intel D865GBF mobo, Intel 865G chipset, Radeon X1650PRO AGPx8 512MB graphics card, 2GB DDR SDRAM

2) 20GB hard drive (a spare drive I am using in a caddy as I don't want to dual boot Linux on my existing XP drive)

3) to run the various web browsers commonly used with Linux - I am studying web design/programming and want to test my web sites on a wide range of platforms/browsers

4) to configure it as a web sever, and install the LAMP stack

I've heard that Ubuntu Server has no GUI - is this true ? Does that mean it cannot run a web browser ? I am confused - even on a server this would seem a rather draconian restriction ?

Also re driver installation - Radeon supply Linux drivers for my X1650Pro graphics card - is it normally straightforward to install these, or is some sort of 'manual' installation needed ?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions/advice.

Certifications: A+, Network+, Cisco CCNA
  2. LukeP

LukeP Gigabyte Poster

Hey.

You can easily run every Linux distro on this piece of hardware. I'd suggest ubuntu as it will be a lot easier to get support and reference materials for it. Also you can run web server on every distro (You dont need ubuntu server) as well as you can run different web browsers.
    In regards to drivers unfortunately nothing is straight-forward in Linux.

Regards

WIP: Uhmm... not sure
  3. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster