Let me introduce myself..

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by waynem, Jul 1, 2004.

1. waynem

waynem New Member

Hi everyone,

Think I'll introduce myself!

I'm an Electronic Engineer considering a new challenge in the field of IT.
    The Electronics industry has declined and changed so much in the last few years that challenges are few and job security stress is high. :biggrin

Personal interest and the flexibility of an IT qualification has made me consider the plunge of working to an MCSE qualification. The motivation is the challenge of a new career, personal growth and quality of life generally - not necessarily money :)

My career has exposed me to many fields of computing/IT but formal qualifications are none-existant. I'm hoping to hot-tail it through the NITLC course and make the move as soon as possible, no matter how lowley the job position; its likely my current job may go in the new year! :ohmy

If this plan makes me sound a few sandwiches short of a picnic, all info is appreciated!

Cheers!

Wayne

Certifications: Absolutley none.
    WIP: MCSE
  2. Phoenix
    Honorary Member

Phoenix 53656e696f7220 4d6f64

Welcome mate, good luck on the MCSE track, hope we can help you!
    is it the 2000 or 2003 track?

Glad you found us, hope you find us useful :)

Certifications: MCSE, MCITP, VCP
    WIP: > 0
  3. waynem

waynem New Member

I've been planning this change for a while (before the 2003 track was available) and I have all the 2000 Microsoft Books and some self-test software.
    I'll probably go for the 2003 track though, just because it will be more current. Do you know how employers view each track ? I assume 2000 Server installations are far more numerous than 2003 Installations. Are the differences between the two refinements or a complete rework ?
    I've come very close to sitting the 70-210 exam, but have decided a more structured approach to study is sensible. It may be slower, but help in enforcing know-how.