Learning SEO

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by PadawanTechie, Jan 22, 2010.

1. PadawanTechie

PadawanTechie Bit Poster

Hello all,

I wondered if anyone can help me!!

I've been looking for web design work for a while now and have managed to get a position as a junior search engine optimiser, how I don't no as I have some good experience in web design up to intermediate level but know next to nothing about SEO and keywords.

I'm starting the position next week and was hoping I could use the next few days to get myself up to a standard that will allow me to do the job.

I'm thinking getting hold of a good book and banging out a few chapters should get me there.

Can anyone suggest a good book to get hold of or anything I can do in the next few days which will prepare me?

Certifications: Bsc (Media Technology), A+
  2. westernkings

westernkings Gigabyte Poster

So, I take it you exaggerated your skills in SEO? I doubt you put "I know nothing about SEO" on your cv when applying for an SEO job?

You're best bet, is google. google. google. There are hundreds of sites with the information readily avaliable, tutorials etc.

Certifications: MCITP:VA, MCITP:EA, MCDST, MCTS, MCITP:EST7, MCITP:SA, PRINCE2, ITILv3
  3. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

Repetition of key words an phrases is an important part of SEO, so you're on the right track by posting the same question in lots of different places...

:rolleyes:

Certifications: MCT, MCTS, i-Net+, CIW CI, Prince2, MSP, MCSD
  4. Ellis

Ellis Bit Poster

Hmmm not good, I went for something similar and learnt my lesson, a position came up for an excel database entry job, I went for it and she asked me what I was like with it, she asked me if I was advanced but I wasnt but I thought I was!:blink, after receiving the test omg no way I was that advanced yet.