Learning A+ Help

Discussion in 'General CompTIA Certifications' started by Hazukison, Sep 12, 2011.

1. Hazukison

Hazukison New Member

Hi everybody, I've taken it upon myself to learn A+ and maybe N+ depending on if i can pass the A+! I bought the latest Exam Cram fifth edition? I know people recommend the Mike Myers book but it seems its out of date now thus i bought the exam cram one which i hope it good enough to figure it all out from it!

Does anyone have any tips or anything for learning this 500 page book? I don't really have much confidence in myself for actually having the mindset of that I myself could pass an exam from only reading a book and that 500 page book looks daunting!! Which I guess is because I've never done it before, Should I set myself to learning 1 or 2 chapters a week or a certain number of pages per week? Did any of you guys set a similar target as I'd love to hear from you to give me a little confidence boost that I'd actually be able to pass these!

Kind Regards!

John

2. Boffy

Boffy Megabyte Poster

A lot of people read the book twice, first time trying to take the information in, second time to skim through, reminding yourself of the topics and attempting the questions.

Other ways are to watch videos such as Professor Messer (Professor Messer, CompTIA A+, Network+, Security+, Microsoft Certification Training) as a second run through with the information.

If your not sure you know the content, grab yourself an exam pack and get the next best thing to actually sitting the exam. There are plenty out there but most people seem to recommend Boson (CompTIA A+ Certification - Practice Exams - Training) who regularly posts on this forum. I've not used it yet but I'm planning to in the near future.