Laptop Suggestion for Study Sessions

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Killian, Jul 29, 2010.

1. Killian

Killian Byte Poster

Hi all,

Not sure if this is really the right place to post it but I figure it's where people come for advice on training and whatnot so figure it's a good a place as any.

Basically; I'm looking for a laptop that I can use for studying. My budget is around £600 - £700 and I'm just looking for something reasonably big (around 15 - 17) with a good aspect ratio (not a fan of the 1366 x 768 or whatever it is). I went down a similar line a few months back and ending up going with a Samsung R580 but found I regretted my decision because of the screen size/aspect ratio.

I'm not an avid gamer nor movie watcher (have my Media Centre for that) so I'm really just looking for a good processor that can handle a few virtual sessions at a time.

Does anybody have a similar setup that they can recommend?

I'm currently studying Configuring Windows 7 (70-680) and messing around with Server 2008 R2, MDT, WDS, etc.

Certifications: See sig.
    WIP: Everything!
  2. Darkfunnyguy

Darkfunnyguy Byte Poster

You talk about using virtual assuming VMware for example therefore I definitely get a laptop with a intel quad duo core or i5 quad processor.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCP, MCDST, MCSA 2003
    WIP: Server+, Vista,
  3. Darkfunnyguy

Darkfunnyguy Byte Poster

Sorry I meant the Intel i7 Core 720M quad processor

4. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

If you want virtualization capabilities, you should make sure you've got as big a processor and as much RAM as you can afford. I'd recommend going to a laptop manufacturer's Web site that allows you to tweak components and build the laptop you want.