Keyboards

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by aw69, Sep 9, 2006.

1. aw69

aw69 Byte Poster

Is it just me with keyboards or do others have this problem. I was using a keyboard at work confirm my jobs I'm a driver and spent ages looking all round for the keys to use but at home as of now I think I'm reasonably confident with my keyboard I still look at the keyboard alot but I'm happy with the way I use it . Even when i use my brothers pc it's the same.I can use both hands but only one finger on each hand but at work it was one finger and waving it about looking for the keys as though i have never used a keyboard before

Certifications: None
    WIP: A+ Network+
  2. Mr.Cheeks

Mr.Cheeks 1st ever Gold Member! Gold Member

are the keyboard different, like oine being those ergonomic keyboard where its bent in half and the other is the usual flat straight ones?

3. r.h.lee

r.h.lee Gigabyte Poster

aw69,

"Qwerty" keyboards have the letter positions of a->z and the number positions of 1->0 in common. The rest of the keys are up to the keyboard manufacturer how they want to put them in relation to the letters and numbers.

You are doing good since I'm assuming that you use both hands at home and how you're trying to use both hands on your brother's pc. At work, it may be a high chance that there are no standardized keyboards. Add to the non-standardized keyboard issue with the differences between an IBM keyboard, an Apple keyboard, and a Sun keyboard, not to mention other kinds of keyboards. Other kinds of keyboards to include the Dvorak keyboard, cell phone keyboards, and ergonomic keyboards (that either encourage or force you to touch type with all nine fingers ).