Just the essentials for essentials?

Discussion in 'A+' started by Dexter, Oct 24, 2007.

1. Dexter

Dexter Nibble Poster

Hi everybody. I need some advice.

I've been studying with Mike Meyers AIO 6th for about four months now and have been gearing up for my essentials. I've found the book to be, generally speaking, very good and have enjoyed the read however my experiences with the CD and more importantly the aided practice test have caused me some worry. THe problem is not necessarily with what I scored or with my own knowledge even but with the fact that some of the questions in teh essentials test aren't covered in the "essentials" sections of the book but are instead in the "IT Technician" parts. In fact one was in the HIstorical/Conceptual part (chapter 10 to be exact). This leaves me thinking that if the essentials test on MIkes own CD doesn't correspond to whats in his own book am I leaving too much to chance for the real exam?

I've covered the essentials sections quite solidly but I've not "studied" the HIstorical/Conceptual parts, I've only read them and now I feel like the only way to arm myself properly for teh exam is to study the whole book before taking even the essentials :ohmy

Has anybody else found the same? Maybe I'm overreacting but I have to travel a fair distance and these exams aren't cheap so I don't fancy finding out the hard way.

Any advice would be greatfully received :cry:

Certifications: A+ N+ MCDST
    WIP: LPIC-1 - HTML - MYSQL
  2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Number one rule is always read around the subject. Don't limit yourself to just one section of the book, or even just one book. Read elsewhere as well.

In *theory* mastering the 'essentials' perfectly should give you a pass. But none of us can claim perfection, so to be safe read the rest!

And the history of PCs often gives a clue as to why things are the way they are!

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+