Just Failed 70-291

Discussion in 'Network Infrastructure' started by elpTech, Feb 11, 2010.

1. elpTech

elpTech New Member

I just failed the 70-291 exam with 673 points! I used the MS press books and Transcender software to study. I can honestly say that I know every answer in the Transcender test. I didn't just memorize the answers I actually know why each answer is what it is. What threw me for a loop was the simulations and WSUS 3.0. Transcender is outdated to say the least. All the WSUS related questions on Transcender are about SUS 2.0. I got 6 simulations right off the bat and was a little lost. Can anyone recommend a way to prepare for the simulations? I know hands one experience is the best way but I dont use MS RRAS at work and I'm a Sys Admin that doesnt have Enterprise rights. Even then I cant practice in my production environment :)

2. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

So? build an environment for yourself.

There are enough free resources out there to allow you to do that (MS offer Virtual PC or Hyper-V server, VMware offer Server 2 which are all free). There are also eval editions of the OS that you can install (you may even find MS have got VHD files for them, failing that VMware may well have them in their Appliance section).

As far as WSUS goes, if you have the test environment going then you will be able to load it up and play with it.
    The same with RRAS, you can't expect to sit an exam without having first played with all the components on the OS (that you are to be tested on) and honestly expect to pass the exam? Even if it's just to get to know what the screens look like.

Certifications: CNA | CNE | CCNA | MCP | MCP+I | MCSE NT4 | MCSA 2003 | Security+ | MCSA:S 2003 | MCSE:S 2003 | MCTS:SCCM 2007 | MCTS:Win 7 | MCITP:EDA7 | MCITP:SA | MCITP:EA | MCTS:Hyper-V | VCP 4 | ITIL v3 Foundation | VCP 5 DCV | VCP 5 Cloud | VCP6 NV | VCP6 DCV | VCAP 5.5 DCA
  3. supernova

supernova Gigabyte Poster