Job help!

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Jellyman_4eva, Apr 20, 2007.

1. Jellyman_4eva

Jellyman_4eva Byte Poster

Hi all,

Just hoping someone can really help a fellow certforum member out...

I am looking for a job desperately now, after having been fairly patient and registering with several recruitment agencies (totaljobs, reed, monster, cwjobs - the list feels endless) I seem to be getting nowhere...

I am looking to get some real experience with server 2003, linux etc etc but everyone seems to be calling me saying you have an MCSE this is the requirement for the job, but when it comes to it, employers seem reluctant to take me on, no matter what I seem to do, because I have no "real world experience"...

This is becoming a real worry for me, as I feel as though I am hitting my head against a brick wall, and all I am trying to do is progress.. my current employers cannot help me out either, as they have a full server admin team as it is, so I really am stuck!!

Any ideas or help!!

Certifications: MCDST, MCITP-EDST/EDA/EA/SA/ MCSA 2K3/2K8, MCSE+M 2K3/2K8, ISA/TMG, VCP3/4, CCNA, Exchange, SQL, Citrix, A+, N+, L+, Sec+, Ser+, JNCIA-SSL, JNCIS-SSL
    WIP: Lots
  2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Just a quick thought, but you could try downgrading your CV so that it doesn't look as full of certs.

Too many certs and no experience can send out the wrong signals.

On the other hand though why should you pretend to be less skilled than you actually are?

3. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster