It's finally got me.

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by westernkings, Mar 27, 2011.

1. westernkings

westernkings Gigabyte Poster

21 and this will be the first time in my life I need dental treatment. I think I have an abscess under my gum (that or my wisdom tooth is murdering me) so because I don't have a dentist, I've had to book an emergency appointment for tomorrow.

It's looking like Root Canal treatment. :cry:

I'm pretty pi**ed something finally got me because i've been pretty well with my teeth before now. boooo.

[end of rant]

Certifications: MCITP:VA, MCITP:EA, MCDST, MCTS, MCITP:EST7, MCITP:SA, PRINCE2, ITILv3
  2. 1/4

1/4 Byte Poster

A balanced diet of whisky helps with toothache I have heard. :)

Certifications: A+, N+
    WIP: 70-680
  3. Shinigami

Shinigami Megabyte Poster

That blows... dental care is also very expensive. What's the deal in the UK for dental insurance? Do you pay out of your pocket or it's covered by some common deal?

Over here, we have obligatory health insurance, but dental care is not included in the base plans (which are still pretty expensive at over 200 pounds a month). If you don't have dental insurance and you go for a root canal, it could amount to 10's of thousands of pounds worth of work O_O!!! Might as well go and do it in a cheaper countrz (which is what some people do).

Certifications: MCSE, MCITP, MCDST, MOS, CIW, Comptia
    WIP: Win7/Lync2010/MCM
  4. Modey

Modey Terabyte Poster

Good luck mate, I'm sure it will be fine. One thing to consider though, most dentists will usually advise root canal, + crowns etc.. rather than say taking the tooth out. Now the cynic in me is thinking, could it be that they would rather have you in their chair for several appointments that will see you out of pockey by possibly hundreds of quid ... or would they suggest, you just get rid of the tooth in one go and pay 40 quid ....