ISEB Foundation Certificate in Systems Development

Discussion in 'Other IT certifications' started by JamesStill, Aug 27, 2008.

1. JamesStill

JamesStill Bit Poster

...apologies for reposting some content from my 'new member introduction'...

I've just sat my first exam in 4 years for the ISEB Foundation Certificate in Software Testing. I started studying it last weekend, booked the exam on Monday and sat it this morning. Really pleased to report a pass.

The downside is that I've now got a taste for it and want to study more. I've been using (MS)SQL for the last year or so, but the exams seem to favour the administrator more than the developer. I do realise that a developer needs to understand the administration side to be really effective - but it's rather a big step to start with, so I'm thinking of doing some more of the ISEB foundation certificates to get some practice before starting on the 'big' ones.

One that I really want to study is the Foundation Certificate in Systems Development (http://www.bcs.org/server.php?show=nav.6943), but there doesn't seem to be a specific book for it. Can anyone point me in the direction of some appropriate literature - the reading list is massive?

James

Certifications: ISEB Foundation Cert in Software Testing
    WIP: More ISEB.....
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Congrats on your pass :)

I was wondering, have you taken a look at the syllabus of the course? It's quite long and intensive. That could be the reason why the reading list is long.

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. JamesStill

JamesStill Bit Poster