Is the employer's Or is it me

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by loca1hero, Nov 25, 2009.

1. loca1hero

loca1hero Byte Poster

Hi
    I have being looking for IT jobs for some time now and would be particularly interested to work as a Network Tech, I have worked for a national company (BT) in IT support and the job involved installing Cisco switches and rollouts and installation of Cisco 7960 series phones, and troubleshooting, I also did some patching. That was my first proper IT job and I got it through an agency and I was learning things everyday while doing that job and I can’t express how happy I was back then. That job was temporary contract and and like all good things it soon came to an end in 4 months: :rolleyes: and since then I have applied for a lot of similar jobs but haven’t had any luck, my background of employment has majority of work in Admin/Customer service, I have worked as Web Administrator as well. I am determine to go back into IT no matter what it takes Or what I have to take (I mean certification exams ..)
    To the point now when I look for jobs like network tech Or network administrator or even some 1st line support jobs and some of the skills they want you to have are
    LAN/WAN, TCP/IP, routers and switches – installation and troubleshooting, Microsoft server 2003, Active directory, Lotus notes, Unix and more.
    What I can’t understand is what certification should I study towards :blink – if I did only Comptia A+ and N+ and then I still wouldn’t know about AD and server 2003 – so A+ and N+ are good starting points but some employers ask for a lot more then that.

I am already studying towards CompTIA N+ and want to pursue the CCNA after that as I want to work in networking. Would really appreciate some advise and guidance on this.

Last edited: Nov 25, 2009
    Certifications: Network+ (004), MCP, see signature
    WIP: MCITP & few oths.Cisco aft sum XPri
  2. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award