Is the book wrong?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Juelz, Mar 9, 2015.

1. Juelz

Juelz Gigabyte Poster

I will keep this as short as I can, I'm studying for the MTA 98-349 and I am using the official MS book. Now on a chapter about group policy this is what the book says:

Group Policy works well in small to large environments whether an organization is located in a single area or has multiple offices spread around a state or several states, for example. It's easiest to manage in mostly "heterogeneous environments", in which many of the client computers use the same hardware and users use much of the same software with the same configurations

I didn't understand the term "heterogeneous environments" so I took to Google which gave me this explanation for the PCmag website:

heterogeneous environment
    . Using hardware and system software from different vendors. Organizations often use computers, operating systems and databases from a variety of vendors.

Now from further research it seems what the book is describing is a homogeneous environment.

I could be wrong so please offer feeback if you can

2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Don't know in what context you are referring to as I do not have that book. However with group policy, the base OS has to be Windows (to my knowledge, if GPO's affect other OS like Apple or Linux then please let me know :) ). However the actual hardware can come from Apple, Dell, IBM, <insert other hardware manufacturers here>. GPO's can also be used to push out setting to different applications (eg Firefox which is not a MS product), push out printers made by various vendors to client and server operating systems, etc...

However if you're talking about AD, then yes, you can have Linux and apple OS authenticate and integrate with it. You can even have wireless systems integrate with it (very similar to IAS authentication).