Is MCSE the right way to go?? advice please

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by emma190780, Feb 24, 2007.

1. emma190780

emma190780 New Member

Hi all,

I would like to get in to the IT field and have contacted advent which have offered me a course MCSE for the cost of £4450!

Is it worth it?

i have no experience in IT except in college when i passed GNVQ advanced IT.

Im just worried that if i pursue this course, will employers want me without any experience?, advent said they can get me a job within 6 months on passing my first few exams to make me MCP (does any one know if this is true or are they just trying to sell me a product)

Also im a girl so would you think this would go against me? as i see the IT industry very male dominated

sorry for all the questions but i just don't want to pay out £4450 if its no good to me :rolleyes:

2. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Hi Emma,

welcome to CF.

take a look at this thread and post back if you need any further advice.

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  3. emma190780

emma190780 New Member

Hi boyce,

thanks for the reply, self study is alot cheaper at £1,500 rather than £4500!

Im just worried that if i pursue this course, will employers want me without any experience?

Also im a girl so would you think this would go against me? as i see the IT industry very male dominated

4. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Emma,

I have almost two year's experience (so more experienced members will be along to give their input) and have to say I don't think IT is a field that is *bound* to male/female.

If my company called our 3rd support company in, no-one would know (or mind) if a man or woman turned up.

As for the experience bit, i see your concern. Going by other postings, it would appear there lots of people with certifications but no experience. There are also lots of people with lots of experience and no certifications.