Is it worth getting certificates?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by thedoc, Sep 3, 2009.

1. thedoc

thedoc New Member

Hey all, please excuse my long first post. I'm 25 and I've had a rather unorthodox career path so far. Ill try to make this brief.

I've always had an interest in IT and computers. I developed my first application for the family business when I was 16 that is still regularly used to this day, although much improved. I studied IT GCSE and Computing A-Level

Essentially I started a university degree, dropped out and then got a job working at the family business working as an admin assistant and it support, but ended up with the role of IT Manager as the company has expanded. The company has expanded significantly since I started onto several sites, which i both travel to and manage remotely.

My role throughout the years has developed but has included application development in a number of programming languages (mainly VB and C#), Linux and Windows 2000 and 2003 server management, desktop support. I've also dealt with a number of different routers including a Cisco PIX (until a power cut killed it and we replaced it with something better and cheaper) I've also been heavily involved in purchasing of new IT Equipment and find stuff that will do what we want. I've setup IPSEC VPNs between the offices and setup an email system which routes email from a server in London which hosts our websites to the correct offices.

What brings me here is I'm looking for new challenges, bigger projects to work on and (importantly) more money and income independence :)

I'm wondering if its worth me studying some certificates or other qualifications to add some paper backing to my experience, and which ones would be most worthwhile.