Is it because Iam a Carpenter

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Georgiesickjitz, Dec 13, 2010.

1. Georgiesickjitz

Georgiesickjitz Byte Poster

Hi all. My name is Georgie, I have been A+ certified since august, an now studying towards the N+. I would say iv applied for 300 jobs,all first line.My C.v is pretty good,having been helped from some of the guys on here. I am a hardworking carpenter wanting to make a great big change in my life,to actually do some thing I have a passion for{Computing}. Obviously its tough out in the job market right now,and especially before christmas,but I havnt even had an interview yet:blink. Its kind of getting frustrating now. To an employer how would they look at my C.v. No experience,is he moving from the building trade because of the recession.and he would be a rough swearing lout.ok the louts a bit harsh. I just need that one oppotunity to get my foot inthe dorr,and i am sure they would be impressed with my work ethic,drive ,enthusiasm leadership skills and humble aproach to taking orders.....sorry guys just thinking out loud.merry christmas,and I hope you all have a brilliant holiday with friends and family.

Certifications: CompTIA A+,CompTIA Network
    WIP: CCNA
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Not being funny but 300 applications is nothing. It took me 8 years to get into IT with a 3 year break for being pissed off and I believe it took Ken (wagnerk) 5 years.

IT is extremely difficult to get into you just need to keep trying.

My main mistake was applying for jobs beyond my experience level make sure you dont do that.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. Georgiesickjitz