Is computer security the way to go?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by darrenwis, May 19, 2009.

1. darrenwis

darrenwis Bit Poster

Hi,

Hoping to get some advice to kick start my career.

I have a BSc in Business Information Systems and hold a keen interest in computing. However, due to my local area I have yet to get my first real foot on the computing ladder.

I am considering taking a MSc Computer Systems Security (http://www.glam.ac.uk/coursedetails/685/532)

It looks a very interesting course and studying it over 3 years (p/t) I think it maybe a good choice to study? What do everyone think of this course?

Also I currently work for a Barclays contact centre as there don't seem to be any entry level jobs going here in South Wales.

What I am trying to find out is if I completed the MSc, do you think the I.T. security industry is one that is going to grow and progress? What roles can I go for when I have completed this?

I know I have asked a lot of questions here but hope I can get some answers from you guys,

Darren

Certifications: BSc (hons)
    WIP: A+
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

I do believe that IT Security is a field that will grow and progress. However I do not believe that by completing the MSc, you'll walk into an IT security post straight away. The majority of IT Security jobs expect you to have x amount of years already in IT systems adminstration, and especially in this climate finding any job is going to be alot harder.

You haven't stated how long you've been trying to get into the IT field. But even with a degree and certs it doesn't guarantee you a job. It took me 5 years to get my foot in and that was way before the resession :)

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award