Is 6 Months too short (ramble warning)

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by dales, Jan 11, 2008.

1. dales

dales Terabyte Poster

Hi all,

I am after i bit of advice or general thoughts on my situation. At the moment I am working for a local government authority as a pc and network support officer which means looking after about 300 users (hardware/software) plus also doing some server maintenance (we have an NDS environment with linux and all flavours of windows servers, including nt4 server). along with that I look after patching/switches and also a few thin clients. I also have purchasing power although my purchases have to be authorised by our Head of service first.

Now I've been there for 6 months and gained some experience, but am wondering if its time to move on. Firstly as Im studying for MCSA the NDS environment isnt really what im interested in (it also seems rather insecure to me). other things include when they hired me they put me at the top of the pay bracket and anyone who has/is working in the public sector will know we only get a cost of living allowance rise each year which is normally in the order of 2-3%. Also there are no jobs higher than what I am doing now so progression is again not an option.

I've always felt that this job wasnt the end result and have just always had a feeling that its not quite like home if you know what I mean. There are many things I like about the job and the users are generally very friendly, but also normally it is very quiet and I get bored (so spend alot of time flicking through this very forum). I'd much rather be learning things than sitting on my arse looking at the internet.

I suppose the main thing im worried about is would a job that I chose to leave after 6 months look bad on my CV, generally IT jobs I've stayed at for about 18 months and the roles before that were 2-3 years.