Introduction to AD

Discussion in 'Active Directory Exams' started by joeseven, Aug 17, 2011.

1. joeseven

joeseven New Member

Hi guys,

I've recently started a new job and they want me to get really involved in Active Directory. They're already sending me on a total beginner's course for it! But I'd quite like to get to understand some basic knowledge before going. I know that is what the course is for, however, I'd just like to understand a little bit about it!

If anyone knows of any great books/websites then if you could link me to them I'd be very grateful!

Thanks and all the best,
    Joe

2. ChrisH1979

ChrisH1979 Byte Poster

Check our resources on the MS website and maybe look for resources specifically regarding:
    User management
    Group Policy
    Computer management
    Groups
    Organisational Units
    Sites

Those are the main kind of things you want to start with for basic management.

Certifications: MCITP:SA, MCSA, MCTS:Win 7, Application Infrastructure
    WIP: MCITP:EA
  3. derkit

derkit Gigabyte Poster

Another thing I've found useful over my time is youtube - search for AD on there and that can bring some little gems up.

Certifications: MBCS, BSc(Hons), Cert(Maths), A+, Net+, MCDST, ITIL-F v3, MCSA
    WIP: 70-293
  4. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

To be honest, the 290 MS press book helped a lot... It goes over the basics and goes a little technical but not too technical... You can always add that book to your reference. The Technet website has lots of info, just googling will give you lots of info. Active Directory depending on what you're doing can be very simple or very complex.

Certifications: A+ | CCA | CCAA | Network+ | MCDST | MCSA | MCP (270, 271, 272, 290, 291) | MCTS (70-662, 70-663) | MCITP:EMA | VCA-DCV/Cloud/WM | VTSP | VCP5-DT | VCP5-DCV
    WIP: VCAP5-DCA/DCD | EMCCA
  5. joeseven

joeseven New Member