Intro and question

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by pedwar1, Oct 7, 2008.

1. pedwar1

pedwar1 New Member

Greetings folks, bit of introduction -

Been working in IT for the same company (although it's changed names a number of times) for about 18 years now, mostly helpdesk work (when the helpdesk was a true IT first line support function rather than call logging as it is now!), but mixed in with Deskside Support, and for the last 4 years as network support looking after the local area network mainly covering 3 sites we have in the area. I also help out the WAN team based a couple of hundred miles away to do with physical cabling/support (due to my geographical convenience rather than my technical skill :) )

Networking kit is about 99% Cisco, so I've had some experience cabling and configuring switches and very little experience with Routers (apart from simulators and a playing with a couple of spare 2600's) I've not had any formal training, just hands on experience, asking questions of the other members of the network team (via phone as they're also couple of hundred miles away in yet another site) and CBT courses/books.

About 4 or 5 months ago, I decided to start studying for the CCNA via the ICND1 and 2 exams. Finally got my head around subnetting, and was doing well (so I thought) on the cisco practice exams (the multiple choice ones from the Cisco Prep Centre) so I thought I would confidently try the practise ICND1 exam that you get with the Cisco Official Exam Certification Guide book - oh boy was I in for a shock - I spectacularly failed it.