Internet and PC security

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by feely, Sep 21, 2007.

1. feely

feely Bit Poster

Hello all, this maybe isn't the right place for this topic, but I will ask anyway..

..A bit down the line, I would be interested in getting into PC/Internet security...what would be the best route to take.

Thanks for any advice.

Sean

Certifications: HND Elect & Electronic Engineering
    WIP: A+, Network+ & BSc in Physics
  2. warrmr

warrmr Byte Poster

How proficient are you with linux.

if you are a total noob to linux ( and i dont mean to offend by saying that) then i would suggest that you go down the route of learning linux and how it works and various bash commands what they do and how they work.
    mabe even look into the CompTIA Linux+ cert i dunno.

you should also give the guys over at Remote Exploit a shout. a couple of points to note about that forum
    1) you will get flamed and beasted on if your ethics are slightly questionable "read the guide on how to post smart questions" (once again i dont mean to cause any offence i just know what there lik over there.
    2) its a support forum for a linux distro called Backtrack its based on a slax livecd

i would recommend setting up a test lab at home and trying to hack one machine from the live CD.

if you have 2 machines you would setup a network with your main computer running a virtual PC with an unlatched version of windows XP pre SP1 if you have it. do not let it get hold of windows updates.

the second machine you will need to boot off the linux live cd you downloaded now what you need to do is try and hack or exploit holes in the win xp client you just set up.

make it easy for yourself turn the firewall off. and if you can install winamp 5.41 i think it was ( this one has a vulnerability ) you will find out more over on remote exploit.

basicly teach yourself how to hack/crack.

pull different software programs apart and just genrally play.