Interested in A+ Certification

Discussion in 'A+' started by GraffickS, Aug 28, 2007.

1. GraffickS

GraffickS New Member

Hey everyone. First post 8)

I'll get right to it. I'm 16 years old, and I live in the Toronto area in Canada.
    I'm interested in getting A+ certified through self-educating. I plan to take the 220-601 "Essentials" and the 220-602 "IT Technician" exams once I am fully prepared.
    I'm thinking of getting the "A+ Certification All-In-One Exam Guide" by Michael Meyers (Sixth Edition), and maybe also the "PC Technician Street Smarts" book by James Pyles (the two books often recommended on this forum).

And I'm just wondering, is this possible? Is there an age requirement to take the A+ certification exam?
    I'm not a complete novice in the field: I have been a computer enthusiast for about 2 years now. Throughout this time, I have been building, repairing, upgrading, and tweaking home computers in my hobby time.
    I also keep up-to-date with new computer hardware releases and new technologies.

I know plenty of computer shops around the area (where I buy my PC upgrades), and I know they could use some help.
    I also checked the CompTIA website, and there are a lot of testing centres around my area.

What I mean to ask is, would A+ Certification be possible at my age?
    I need to be certain that the testing centres will not tell me to go home when I apply for the exams. :eek:

It should be okay... right? :biggrin

Thanks!

2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

I dont think there is an age restriction on the exams, you could always e-mail compTIA and ask but you do need a credit card to pay for them so you would probably need a parent or gaurdian to pay for you (this is possible because I dont have a credit card and e-mailed compTIA to ask if someone else can pay)

Good Luck with your studies.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. Kitkatninja