IM NEW PLS HELP

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by danny187, Sep 15, 2008.

1. danny187

danny187 New Member

Hi , i have just ordered the mcdst self study microsoft books on amazon, i have no commercial experience and i work in construction hire, my missus works on sql and i spoke to my mate who is certified in about 4 things and he think it is a good idea for me to learn these and eventually do the exams.

do you think im out of my depth, i know my round a pc and know certain things any advice or help would be nice.

Thanks

2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

It’s a good cert to start with mate.

If you have any questions when you are studying just post them here. :thumbleft

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  3. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome :)

Yes the MCDST is possible without experience but it may be beneficial to learn the A+ and N+ before (thats the usual way anyhow). compTIA A+ will teach you the basics of computing and technical support skills, the N+ is the basics of networking both of which will help when you get to the MCDST exams.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  4. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

I agree with what GBL & Sparky already said :)

Welcome to CF :)

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  5. Qs

Qs Semi-Honorary Member Gold Member

So far the info has been spot on! :)

Hello and welcome to the forums!