I'm confused

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Riaz, Apr 1, 2009.

1. Riaz

Riaz Bit Poster

Hi Guys,
    As the title says, i'm confused :) The reason for my confusion is that I want to have a career in web development and i dont have much knowledge about the coding that goes into it. I do have a bachelors in IT but web development was never a part of it, I know how to code in C++ etc. But need to specifically learn web designing.

I was going for CIW Web Design certification and called up seeklearning to discuss it with them. They suggested I go for MCTS: .NET 2.0 web application certification since I already know the theory part of web development and am familiar with few programming languages (that dont actually relate to it though :blink). Now I am confused if i should go for MCTS or CIW. I graduated in 2006 and from there on have been working as tech support for a telecom company, but that hardly involves IT. More of landline phone support. I have lost touch with the usual C++, JAVA programming languages, still kind of know the basics of it though.

What do you guys suggest I do. I am already trying to learn HTML and XHTML. Since i consider myself a dummy to web design I have also got a book called HTML, XHTML, and CSS All-in-One Desk Reference For Dummies. Which seems to be quite good. Thats the link:
    http://www.amazon.com/HTML-XHTML-Reference-Dummies-Computer/dp/0470186275

I had thought I would self study give the CIW certification exams and make a portfolio but now after talking to seek learning it seems I am more confused and dont know what exactly to do. I need advise :D

Certifications: CompTIA A+, MCP (70-270)
    WIP: CIW Web Design
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

seek learning will say anything to get your cash, either trust someone who wants your money or trust the people on here who are giving you advice for free.