If your company was willing to pay for training

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by mrvolleyball, Feb 8, 2006.

1. mrvolleyball

mrvolleyball Bit Poster

Hi

If the company you worked for was willing to pay for IT training, what would you go for, taking the following into consideration.

I'm looking to eventually get my MCSE ( or MCSA )
    I already have a good working knowledge of computer systems networks etc as I've working in the industry for 5 years so I'm not a newbie :D ( also I have a degree in Computer Science)

I'd rather not go on a week long course somewhere, cram everything into my brain, pass the exam and forget 50% of the stuff the next week.

There aren't any local colleges that offer relevant courses. So it'll probably have to be distance learning, or learning from videos e.g. CBT nuggets, learnkey.

Had thought about something like:
    CBT Nuggets Network Admin Essentials Combo Pack
    Hopefully my company budget would stretch that far.
    Or maybe:
    Nugget Streaming Subscription
    which is 1 year internet access to all CBT nugget courses ( and is cheaper although is only for 1 year )

Your thoughts / comments / alternatives are appreciated.

MrVolleyball

2. supag33k

supag33k Kilobyte Poster

Good to hear they will pay you for training:

1. Get them to send you on a Microsoft training course [MOC]...
    http://www.microsoft.com/learning/default.mspx

2. Setup a training lab of 2 or 3 PC's either at work or home....and practice ad nauseum

3. Use either Self Test Software or Transcenders for quality testing software - get work to pay for the software here also...
    http://www.selftestsoftware.com/default.aspx
    http://www.transcender.com/default.aspx

4. Look for additional resources at Microsoft such as the webcasts:
    http://www.microsoft.com/events/webcasts/ondemand.mspx

Remember to focus on one issue/exam at a time and good luck

supa

Certifications: MCSE (NT4/2000/2003/Messaging), MCDBA