I want to set up a CCNA lab

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by rrittenhouse, May 21, 2011.

1. rrittenhouse

rrittenhouse New Member

I am looking into setting up a CCNA lab. I am studying with whatever material I can get my hands on but I am wanting to set up a CCNA lab (with possible upgrades to include the Cisco Voice track).

What sort of configurations of gear are recommended? I see a lot of different lab "setups" that some people state you can get by on but I'm not sure *what* should be used.

I might have some (or all) of the gear at work so it might be even cheaper than getting a simulator. I do realize that Boson has a 90% chance of being suggested and I'm not completely against that because of the labs that accompany the software. I just like the idea of having the physical gear sitting in front of me if possible).

I've looked for other threads and saw GNS3 and even Packet Tracer mentioned. I do have access to packet tracer from the academy program I was in but, again, I like the idea of physical hardware if possible.

Thanks!

2. melhiore

melhiore Bit Poster

Hello.

CCNA lab may be really minimal. There is not much that you need to involve in CCNA lab as majority of material can be covered by PacktTracer and GNS3 - cheaper alternative. However nothing will give you that real hardware smell, fan noise and extra power consumption in your house.

I can tell waht I do have in my lab:

1. 2x 2611 router with serial cards and ethernet cards,
    2. 3x 2900 series switches with different IOS versions as you'll work with them in real world,
    3. 1x 3660 modular router which gives me a lot of expansion possibilities,
    4. 1x 4000 series Catalyst - it's not necessary as this one is huge but I got it for good money - this is more advanced stuff which you may work on in enterprise environment,

Still need VPN card for 3660 as I'm planning to take CCNA Security after my CCNA exam.