Problem I want to learn programming methodology not language syntax

Discussion in 'Scripting & Programming' started by searchformeaning, Apr 17, 2012.

1. searchformeaning

searchformeaning Bit Poster

Hello,

I'm new to programming. I bought 2 books to learn programming. But the problem I found is that both (and most other books) concentrate on how to write code not on how to THINK of a problem and divide it into chunks, think about each sub-problem and connect parts together to get the complete solution. For example, how to think of a loop and its codition/s. Most books just explain example code. This is the code to do so and so and this is the explanation of the syntax. The syntax of conditional statements, variables, loops, classes,...etc is pretty simple. Anybdoy can read a book and know the syntax. But to write code and solve probelms you need a book that teaches you how to think of a problem. How to improve your problem solving skills in terms of programming. How to enhance your solution (for example, keeping away from using redundant code).

Please, recommend me a good programming book to build robust essential programming skills.

Certifications: A+, Security+, MCP
  2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

You won't find just one book that works in this regard as its a complicated subject that is largely something that comes with experience of writing hundreds of programs.

Stuff you could maybe look at -

Programming Pearls
    Algorithms
    Design patterns : elements of reusable object-oriented software
    Ruminations on C++: A Decade of Programming Insight and Experience
    Clean Code
    Refactoring

The trouble is a lot of stuff you just won't 'get' until you have some experience in the language, processes, domain etc that the books write about. That is why programming jobs want people with years of experience.