I need some advice

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Ophelia, Feb 28, 2012.

1. Ophelia

Ophelia New Member

Hello people!

I am thinking of moving to UK in order to get an job in the IT Sector.
    I have A BSc in Computer Science and right now i am finishing my Postgraduate studies.
    Does the master's degree count as a plus? I don't have a lot of commercial experience (1,5 year) in html, CSS and Photoshop. BUT i have academic experience in ASP.NET/ C# - My master thesis is in ASP.NET/C#/SQL, and also my BSc final project was made with the same technologies. Will this count as a plus? I am not saying that i am very good but i think that i have a basic understanding with these concepts. I was thinking of getting certified but it is a lot of money and i cannot afford it.
    I see many graduate jobs in websites like cw/reed etc but there are so many applicants and i am not sure if i have a chance of getting a job. And also i see that some people say that there are many scam ads. Sorry for my English. It's not my native language.

Any advice?

:)

2. Boffy

Boffy Megabyte Poster

Perhaps apply for the roles and see whether you get any interest? With the job situation as it is, you won't find many jobs without 100+ applicants, that applies to the IT Datacentre as well as the '£1 Stores' 8)

Certifications: BSc Computer Game Technology, A+
    WIP: MOS 2010
  3. Ophelia

Ophelia New Member

Thank you for you answer. Right now i am not living in the UK. And i think that it is better to come in the UK and then search for a job. What about Graduate Jobs? I am 26 an am now finishing my postgraduate studies. Do you think that i am old for graduate jobs? And also what is the difference between a graduate/trainee and internship ?

4. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

Most people enter university in the UK aged 18 and leave when they are 21, if they do a 4 year combined masters when they are 22.