I got a job!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by IT2009, Nov 24, 2011.

1. IT2009

IT2009 Byte Poster

It has been long time since I posted here. In a mean time I got internship (worked for free) in digital department with well known company! And it ended me getting the job.
    But I would like your advice please.
    Is it ok to negotiate higher salary? I am new to digital, i haven't got related work experience before. This is junior position. Mainly it is going through large pool of data and some sql and keeping an eye on export of data... It is very busy job though - lots of data every day coming....
    What would this be worth (££) on job market and my question from above - is it ok to ask for more not having experience?
    Thanks!

Last edited: Nov 24, 2011
    Certifications: MCP, HND Business Information Systems
    WIP: A+
  2. Boffy

Boffy Megabyte Poster

Congrats about the job offer.

I'm afraid I don't know the worth of your job, I could look online but generally the results would be pretty biased as well. But from my experience. I'll give you my input.

You can ALWAYS negotiate for anything! You just have to do it in a certain way.

Start off positive, you never go into the conversation with a bad expression, that will leave you in a awkward and negative light if they decline the negotiation.

I have a few statements I like to say, this is one of my favourite ones (and got me £2k more for my current job). It goes something like:

It HAS to be done face-to-face, with a cheeky smile and a lot of balls. Make sure you've been communicating well and getting on with the HR people 8)

alternatively, on the phone:

The rule the negotiation you must leave them make the first comment, the first speaker is always going to lose. It feels awkward, they don't expect you to ask, and you must be quick on your toes to continue once they speak.