I am studying for A+ essentials 601......

Discussion in 'A+' started by djbonnett, Oct 25, 2007.

1. djbonnett

djbonnett Banned

Hi folks

I am into my first week of studying A+ 601.

I am starting out as a bit of a novice when it comes to IT, and set myself 6 weeks to do this exam.

After purchasing the Mike Meyers book like most of you advised I was a bit taken back on its size!!:)

I have a couple of old PC's and an old Lap Top to butcher as well!:)

I have been on some practice exams and realised they are not that basic (well for me anyhow), do you lot think 6 weeks is a bit unrealistic?
    I have a full time job, not in IT so studying is abit limited to 12 hours a week approx.

How many hours is realistic?
    How far do I read into each chapter?

Many thanks folks, wish me luck!!!!!!!!

Certifications: C.L.A.I.T.
    WIP: A+ and MCDBA
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

First Hi Welcome

Second read the whole book cover to cover

Third 6 weeks could be ok for you it may take 6 years, people learn at different paces, I myself am studying for the A+ and have been ready for 3 months, I read the book then highlighted important parts on the second time through it.

I am in a bit of financial trouble so cant afford the exams it took me 2 months in total.

But like I said some people could read the book over a couple of days go take the exam and pass, some people could take a longer time. There is no time limit, once you know the material and understand it take the exams.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. greenbrucelee

Out of interest why are you studying the A+ if you are going to study the MCDBA? they are not connected as A+ is about being a tech and others about database admin.

4. djbonnett

djbonnett Banned

Good qustion! ( I have asked myself)
    It is part of a program I am doing through an IT learning provider.