How you start in I.T and where are you now?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by coolc, Dec 23, 2010.

1. coolc

coolc Nibble Poster

How did you start in I.T? At what age? What qualifications or experience you have prior to your first I.T role?
    Where are you now? In your journey what were your high and low points and what have you learned so far about I.T? Also where do you plan to head in the future?

2. toshiba145

toshiba145 Nibble Poster

I am going to start my it career through an apprenticeship programme from 4th jan as a desktop support engineer for a financial company. I will be 19 tomrw. I got A+ and ccna. Used to work for a charity for once a week upto 10 weeks and also got my own side busniness selling computers.

Certifications: A+, CCNA
    WIP: MCITP
  3. danielno8

danielno8 Gigabyte Poster

While doing my degree i had a placement year where i worked in a small IT dept 4 days a week doing general desktop support. After i finished my degree i got my first full-time job in an IT dept of two around Nov '07. Again desktop support, but after a few months i started doing server admin, building servers/setting up our virtual environment and virtualising as much of our infrastructure as we could. Replaced our Cisco PIX firewalls with ASA firewalls. Then moved to where i am now which is in the telecoms team of a global oil company supporting offshore platforms and our UK/Norway offices.

It's only been 3 years, so there hasn't really been any low points. Each step up, new responsibility or other, have been high points. Most recently I got a substantial pay rise which, along with the increasing responsibilities being given, i feel shows my work is being noticed, and it's good to work with company/bosses like that.

My plan is to get as skilled as i can on the main equipment we use (Nortel/Cisco/Juniper/Checkpoint), then start looking for positions with companies who have even bigger networks.

Certifications: CCENT, CCNA
    WIP: CCNP