How to perform an unattended instalation of XP Pro in a Virtual Machine?

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by hugorilho, Apr 9, 2009.

1. hugorilho

hugorilho Byte Poster

Hi guys. I'm studying for the MCDST using VPC 2007. Here's what has been bugging me. I've created a new virtual machine and installed XP Pro in it. Then I created an answer file and copyed it to a cd with the correspondant batch file and I386 folder created during the process. Now, I want to try to use this CD in another brand new virtual machine with no OS installed. How can I run the CD if there's no OS installed in the virtual machine?

Certifications: MCDST
  2. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member

You need to look at the settings in VPC for boot from CD-Rom

Certifications: VCP4, 5, 6, 6.5, 6.7, 7, 8, VCAP DCV Design, VMConAWS Skill, Google Cloud Digital Leader, BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VSP, VTSP
    WIP: Google Cloud Certs
  3. hugorilho

hugorilho Byte Poster

I did that and nothing... My physical drive starts running but nothing happens on the VM. It shows the two screens that I have attached to this post (first it shows nº1 and then after a while nº2). I wonder if it's because the cd doesn't have a boot file of some kind. Also when I created the answer file it was supposed to create an UDB file but it didn't. Well at least it's not visible and i've searched for it in i386 folder. Where is it then?

Attached Files:

4. hugorilho

hugorilho Byte Poster

Important update to my previous post:

about the UDB file, it is created only when more than one computer name is entered in the answer file. That's not my case at all. I've only entered just one computer name. Sometimes i get lazy or tired and don't read the instructions properly.