How to connect to internet on a win 98 P.C.

Discussion in 'Software' started by law123, Mar 28, 2005.

1. law123

law123 Byte Poster

:helpread Hello all I am still studying away. Ok this is the problem it may be in 2 parts. One of my P.Cs I have set up Windows 98SE I am connecting to the internet using a cable modem. I have been able to connect to the internet do all the security updates Etc. The only thing is there is no icon in the taskbar to see when I am connected or not. And I have no way of disconnecting from the internet as I have no icon on desktop to let me give an option to disconnect. I have tried looking in internet connections. I have tried setting up connection manually and also with disk from ISP I remember I had this little problem before with a windows ME computer and for the life of me I cannot remember what the solution was. Can any of you guys help?

Certifications: None
    WIP: A+
  2. drum_dude

drum_dude Gigabyte Poster

Hi Law123,

Unfortunatley there isn't a network connection taskbar icon available for NT4, 95, 98 and ME. They provided one for dial up connections though, but not for network connections. You may have used a 3rd party product in the past to provide one!

Cheers

Sacha

Certifications: MCP, MCSA 2000 , N+, A+ ,ITIL V2, MCTS, MCITP Lync 2010 & MCSA 2008, Sonus SATP SBC 1k/2k
    WIP: Hopefully Skype for Business and some Exchange stuff...
  3. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Hmmmm. I've never connected a Windows 98SE machine to the Internet other than with dialup. If your 98 machine connects using a cable modem, why would you want to disconnect? Usually DSL and Cable users have an "always on" connection. I suppose if you want to isolate the 98 machine from the rest of the network, you could just undo the LAN cable.

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  4. law123

law123 Byte Poster