How much study time to pass 271?

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by david248005, Mar 27, 2008.

1. david248005

david248005 Bit Poster

Hi
    I purchased the Microsoft Press book 1 month ago and have been reading it for about 2 hours a day since then. I start an evening class on 15th April for the MCDST certification which lasts 10 weeks @ 3hours per week.

I find now that I feel fairly competent of my understanding of the objectives but when i sit practice exams I'm not scoring to well (~70% usually or thereabouts!)

Just wondered what sort of time scale other people give themeselves to study for these exams. I've not started 272 yet, although I did a quick browse through the book and it definitely seems easier.

Anyway, thoughts please
    :eek:

WIP: MCDST, OU T175 & M150,
  2. BosonJosh

BosonJosh Gigabyte Poster

It really depends on my knowledge of the technology that I'm studying. If I'm not very familiar with the technology, I would probably spend 2-4 weeks studying for the exam. That includes dedicating several (3-4) nights a week during that time studying for the exam. If I am familiar with the technology, I'll generally give myself a couple of weeks. Once I'm able to score 70-80% on the practice tests, I'll brush up on some of the topics I'm missing on the practice tests and then give the exam a go.

Note that if I'm not overly confident in my knowledge of a particular topic, I won't even think of taking the exam. I'll spend some time getting familiar with the technology, and then once I feel comfortable with the technology (this could take months), I'll carve out 2-4 weeks to actually prepare for the exam.

As with any study program, there's no one size fits all solution. You'll have to gauge for yourself how confident you feel before taking the exam. If you don't feel confident, keep studying. If you think you're ready, give it a shot. And, even if you fail the exam, it's not the end of the world. You can brush up on what you missed and try again.