How can I get my foot in the door?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Hilazing, Sep 5, 2013.

1. Hilazing

Hilazing Bit Poster

I've been applying for jobs left right and centre for the last few months, and I have had one interview, and nothing else.

I have no official IT experience, but plenty of Customer service experience.

I can't really afford to drop too much money to get my foot in the door, so I am looking at a small pay cut (looking at approx. £17-20k jobs in the Midlands) but all seem to want a lot of experience/degree.

I am now working towards a server cert, but most people seem to say too many certs without experience is a bad thing, so I don't know where to go from here.

How do I get someone to take a chance on me? Or at least get myself into an interview to try and sell myself?

I generally send the same CV (For some reason I can't attach it on this site - I've pasted the details below, obviously formatting is wrong) for each application, but tailor my covering letter a little for each job.

Any ideas/tips?

Thanks

- - - - CV text below - - - -

**My Name**
    **My Address**
    **My email Address** **My phone numbers**
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Personal Statement
    I have many years experience in customer services, both face to face and over the phone, however am looking to continue my career by finding a role more suited to my interests and moving into IT.
    I have recently achieved my MCTS certification for configuring Windows 7, and am currently working towards achieving windows server 2012 certifications, however would like to add practical experience whilst studying.
    Employment History
    Customer Services Representative – Major Accounts
    TNT UK LTD Lount, Leicestershire Feb 2010-Present
    Key Achievements
    • Progressing from Frontline through Admin and Customer Support departments to the Major Accounts Desk.
    • Regularly achieving KPIs and performance targets.