Hola!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by BigRikk, Jul 7, 2010.

1. BigRikk

BigRikk New Member

Hey there

I am new to this site and IT as a career to be honest. I am currently a social worker looking to change over with the ultimate goal to become an ethical hacker. Anyways hello to everyone and any advice on courses what types of jobs to start out in just give me a holla.

Take care all

Rikk

2. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

Hello and welcome to CF!

To be come a security expert in the IT industry, you have to start out at the bottom like everyone else. You need to gain experience first before you can start specializing in a certain area. To get the the CEH (Certified Ethical Hacker) cert is aimed at individuals with many years of experience. What I would do is start with the basic IT Technician stuff like CompTIA A+, Network+ and keep going... keep in mind that it is recommended to get hands on before any certifications so while you're studying for these certifications, also look for work.

Certifications: A+ | CCA | CCAA | Network+ | MCDST | MCSA | MCP (270, 271, 272, 290, 291) | MCTS (70-662, 70-663) | MCITP:EMA | VCA-DCV/Cloud/WM | VTSP | VCP5-DT | VCP5-DCV
    WIP: VCAP5-DCA/DCD | EMCCA
  3. Kopite_21

Kopite_21 Gigabyte Poster

Hi welcome to CF,

Agreed as above A+ N+ MCDST normally the way to start.

Just doing my A+ now.

Regards

Certifications: National Diploma IT Advanced ECDL
    WIP: A+
  4. Notes_Bloke

Notes_Bloke Terabyte Poster

Hi & welcome to CF:D

NB

Certifications: 70-210, 70-215, A+,N+, Security+
    WIP: MCSA
  5. BosonJosh

BosonJosh Gigabyte Poster

Welcome!

6. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Welcome!

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  7. BigRikk