Hi

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by poolboy79, Sep 19, 2007.

1. poolboy79

poolboy79 New Member

Hello all,

Im a newbie, and looking to get myself on the IT ladder. Thinking about aiming for a MCSA.

Thought I'd start with a question...

How long would a person with decent PC knowledge and willing to put in the hours study, expect to do the A+ and MCP in? ANd how long would you reckon it would take to get a first IT job, bearing in mind that I am a project manager and have a training background in non-IT sector? The quicker I can get a foot on the ladder the better!!

Lookng forward to getting loads of help and getting to know peeps on here!!!

Cheers :D

WIP: Thinking about MCSA
  2. UCHEEKYMONKEY
    Honorary Member

UCHEEKYMONKEY R.I.P - gone but never forgotten. Gold Member

Hello Poolboy and welcome to CF :biggrin

Certifications: Comptia A+
    WIP: Comptia N+
  3. UCHEEKYMONKEY
    Honorary Member

UCHEEKYMONKEY R.I.P - gone but never forgotten. Gold Member

That's a hard question to answer, because it depends on the individual. how fast you can learn, what your financial circumstance are like and how much free time have you really got??

Have a look at this thread on studying A+ written by MrCheeks

Certifications: Comptia A+
    WIP: Comptia N+
  4. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Getting the A+ and MCP are great for getting your foot in the door. Aiming for the MCSA is great. But going for the MCSA before you get experience is a bad idea. As long as you keep in mind that you should get experience before getting the MCSA, you'll do OK. :) Certifications won't automagically get you your start in IT. That said, they're helpful to get you noticed (to a point - get certifications relevant to your experience level).

Welcome!