Hi, Thinking of a career change. Any advice appreciated

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by CrazyDiamond, Apr 4, 2009.

1. CrazyDiamond

CrazyDiamond New Member

Hi, A bit about me.

I'm 29 and work as a Security systems engineer (Mainly CCTV)
    I have always been good with computers, for the past 15 years or so, Building, programming, repairing and troubleshooting etc, and I have an interest in all things electronic :)
    Before I was an Engineer, I worked as a builder (not computer builder) but the bricks and mortar type of builder.
    During that time I attended night college and took some programming courses. I never wanted a career in programming but I enjoyed getting the qualification anyway.

I just done this job installing 40+ IP cameras, 2 NVR's a DVR for the existing analogue system and a PC to Control the lot. All the machines I built and configured myself.

Anyways, I was doing this job and was working alongside some Network Engineers who turned out to be some really nice blokes.
    I took a lot of interest in what they do for a living and the Cisco POE routers they were using and now I feel like I want to learn more.

My questions, and what brings me here is.. Where do I start? What course/s should I venture into?

Also please note, I want a change and I don't have much money as I have a small family and its hard surviving on 28K as it is.

I have been reading a lot and was thinking CCNA but courses are far too expensive and I have to carry on working while I study.

Really appreciate any help from this community.

CrazyDiamond

Certifications: VIsual Basic Programming
    WIP: Network CCNA
  2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

Some CCNA evening courses are available from local colleges from around £1000. They seem to vary a little in format, I think most are split into four modules and run part time in evenings for one-two years. Check around your local colleges for what they offer.