hi there

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Rodd, Feb 22, 2005.

1. Rodd

Rodd New Member

newby here, just assessing(sp) the situation and looking to get in the IT business if its possible?

I'm currently doing an ECDL with learn direct, not IT i know but its a step. I used to work in a shop building pc's and really enjoyed it, not sure if theres a job out there doing the same or similar?.
    Ideally i'd like a support roll looking after networks or diagnostics...again not sure if theres much out there in that line of work though.

so, how hard is it to get into and how much does it pay when your there......is it all worth it??????? :biggrin

2. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Hi Rodd. Welcome. Glad you could make it. Is it worth it? Depends on how you define "worth". I did a career change in mid-stream and it took me about four years total to get my first full-time, decently paying job. I worked free-lance contractor before that and had a full-time slave job to get me through school and supplement my income.

I do have to say I love my current job...but it was a hard fight to get this far. It's worth it for me.

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  3. Loki30000

Loki30000 Bit Poster

hi rodd, Erm....well said trip :blink it looks like we're all in for a long haul if we want to better ourselves. :eek:

Certifications: none yet
    WIP: Home learning C++. Then VB and JAVA
  4. punkboy101
    Honorary Member

punkboy101 Back from the wilderness

Hi there Rodd, and welcome to Certforums. As Trip say's, you have to define "worth it". If by worth it you mean the feeling of accomplishment and the love of your job, then yes, it is more than worth it. I wouldn't change profession for much, I love what I do.