Hi There! *wave*

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by SpaceHamster, Sep 12, 2006.

1. SpaceHamster

SpaceHamster New Member

Hello everyone,

My name is Dave, I'm a 21-years-old ex-student, and I stumbled upon this fine community whilst searching for information about certification the self-taught way. I'm an avid music fan - I listen to anything and everything - and I'm a not-so-closet video gaming geek. I must confess to having a more than slight addiction to World of Warcraft (*hangs head in shame*).

Anyway, I have a few questions for you!

I'm currently considering doing a course through CompTIA-Certification.co.uk which would enable me to get my A+, N+, CCNA and MCSA qualifications. The price is pretty good, I think, from looking around various provider's websites (it's £799 for all four qualifications, costs for exams are on top of that), but I'd only be given a year to complete the studies. They suggest that 6-9 months should get me through, but I'm assuming that that's full-time study - I have a regular job, and so need to study in the evenings and weekends. I can do a fair few hours a week, maybe 2-3 each night and more on the weekends, but is that reasonable or completely out of the question?

Another thing I'm slightly confused about is whether or not I even need to learn via a provider. I've been led to believe that I could quite happily teach myself to pass the A+ and N+ exams. One option would be to teach myself the A+ and N+ certifications, but considering that I'm not brilliant at learning things on my own would it be worth having a tutor for the CCNA and MCSA? What kind of level are these exams pitched at? Also, if I taught myself the A+ and N+, I'd have to pay almost as much to learn CCNA and MCSA (it's a package deal, and the individual components are hideously expensive).