Hi There! Attempting a comeback...

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by lyndonw, May 13, 2007.

1. lyndonw

lyndonw Bit Poster

Hi

Im Lyndon and up until about 6 years ago I worked as a Novell Network Engineer (CNE certified).

I left the industry due to a number of factors and ended up in the hospitality industry, which I now detest!

Im hoping to make a comeback, probably as an application developer (my strongest college grades from my BTEC Computer Science course were in programming)

I've had contact with a company called IT Futures Online (also calling themselves Computer Futures Online) who are offering an internship following a payment of around £2500, to train me an offer work experience to MCAD.NET, Biztalk and MCDBA level.

Im also considering the self study route as this is how I originally got my (now-lapsed) CNE certification many years ago.

I dont have a massive budget and to be honest the internship will take almost my whole budget, so any advice is appreciated.

Thanks

Lyndon

WIP: CCNA
  2. onoski

onoski Terabyte Poster

Welcome to the CF forum and yes I'd advice you go the self study route to save money as well as learn properly. Get yourself an MS press book on the subject matter your interesting in and then go through the book making sure you carry out all the practices in a test lab environment. Basically, setup a few PC's for this or use a virture OS like Virtual PC or the very renowned VMWare Server edition and they are both free for download.

After you have done the above I'd advice you get a test prep like MeasureUP or Transcenders to gauge your knowledge and to see if you can tackle the real exams.

Best wishes, but whatever you decide stay away from those companies that promise to train you and then place you in a job they are only after the fees you'd pay them for a job that does not exist. Read some of the other post in this forum about this issue.