hi, new to forums

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by daave, Mar 7, 2011.

1. daave

daave New Member

hi there.

am new to these forums and hope to learn and contribute where i can. Im currently studying for my cisco CCNA, have passed the ICND1 exam and hope to take the ICND2 exam at the end of may. Im more interested in networking than anything else however realistically think il need to cert in something more rounded to enter the IT field, and without industry experience dont think a CCNA on its own will get me too far.

looking foward to browsing the forums !

daave

Certifications: CCNA
    WIP: 70-680
  2. Black Tortoise

Black Tortoise Byte Poster

Welcome!

Studying for the CCNA minus experience? prepare yourself for a slap in the face (not from me)

Certifications: N+
    WIP: A+ Security+ ITIL V3
  3. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome

You are indeed correct that the CCNA will not help you on it own. Infact the CCNA may hinder you and thats because the CCNA is a cert designed for people who have job experience in supporting cisco hubs and switches it is not a cert for someone who wants to get into IT.

There are certs for begginners and certs for people with experience so you need to get some entry level certs such as compTIA A+,Network+, MCDST and MCITP windows 7.

Unfortunately no one walks into a networking job reagrdless of how qualified you are so you need to start at the bottom and progress into networking.

You may also find that in order to get and entry level job you will have to hide that fact that you have the CCNA on your cv untill you have relevant experience.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  4. daave

daave New Member