Hi, I'm new here

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by Island3r, Jan 30, 2006.

1. Island3r

Island3r Nibble Poster

Hello I've just joined, so i'd just like to say hello and post my very first question (no doubt its goin to be one of many :) ), so here goes.

I'm studying for the MCDST starting with 70-272. My study material includes the examcram2 books and the Measureup CD that comes with it, and i've downloaded the free MS e-learning tutorial and i've got demos from Self Test, Ucertify and ITCertKeys which all have a few practice questions. I've got a very small budget hence the demos but i've got about 2 years desktop support in XP behind me. Does this all seem a bit OTT?

I would appreciate any study tips, hints, or anything. Look forward to hearing from u guys

Certifications: A+, Network+, MCDST, MCSA 2003, MCTS: Windows Vista, Config, MCTS: Exchange 2007, Config, MCTS: Server 2007 Active Directory, Config, MCTS: Server 2008 Network Infrastructure, CEH
  2. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Greetings, Island3r. You might want to invest in one of the study tomes for that cert. The EC2 books are meant as "review only" and have never been intended to be your primary source of information. Also, as I recall, ucertify is a braindump site and as such you want to steer clear of them.

BTW, take a moment to pop up to the New Members Introduction forum and give us a proper 'hello". The gang would like the chance to welcome you to CertForums. Cheers. :)

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  3. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

Welcome to CF! Ask away!

i dont know much about MCDST but simon has ( i think! :blink ) but ill add my cents worth... as far as i see the cram books are fine if you know XP inside out.. alot of people say MCDST is the 70-270 XP pro exam with support and customer facing questions which in that case if true and you dont have a through and through knowledge of XP you will struggle with the cram book.